2023-2024 Administrative & Professional Staff Council Wednesday, October 18, 2023 1:30 P.M.

Student Center, Vermillion Room

I. Call to Order

The October meeting was called to order by Chair Todd Bryson.

II. Roll Call and Announcement of Proxies

<u>Members Present:</u> Tena Bennett, Todd Bryson, Amy Eaton, Jeff Franklin, Rachel Frazier, Tarnisha Green, Caleb Hale, Carly Holtkamp, Peter Lucas, Layla Murphy, Josi Rawls, Elyse Weller, Susan Zamora

Members Absent with Proxy: Rita Medina (Proxy Layla Murphy), Laura Morgan (Proxy Tarnisha Green), Jasmine Winters (Proxy Carly Holtkamp)

Members Absent: Lila Angel-Post

III. Adoption of Meeting Minutes – Both Meetings

Motion: C. Hale Second: J. Rawls

A vote commenced: 13 Yeas, 0 Nays, 0 Abstention; The minutes from September 20, 2023,

Session 1 were approved as presented.

Motion: C. Holtkamp Second: T. Bennett

A vote commenced: 13 Yeas, 0 Nays, 0 Abstention; The minutes from September 20, 2023,

Session 2 were approved as presented.

IV. Adoption of Meeting Agenda

Motion: A. Eaton Second: P. Lucas

A vote commenced: 13 Yeas, 0 Nays, 0 Abstention; The agenda for today's meeting was

approved as presented.

V. Guest

T. Bryson reported Susan Simmers (VC for Administration and Finance) will be guest speaker at the November meeting.

VI. Reports

- A. Chair- Meeting with Chancellor Sharing of sick days T. Bryson reported meeting with Chancellor Lane today and talked about the equity study and hiring a consulting firm to assist. They also discussed the new employee luncheon with the Chancellor, pay raise will be on November's check, and sharing sick days/time.
- B. Staff Benefits and Welfare Meeting with HR T. Green reported meeting with Nick Wortman (Assistant VC of HR) last Thursday. They discussed term to continuing contracts, sharing sick days/time, performance evaluations, and will meet periodically.

VII. Committee Assignments and Election of Officers

A/P Staff Council Executive Committee assigned the following standing committee assignments:

<u>Operating Paper</u> – Tena Bennett, Jeff Franklin, Layla Murphy – Jeff Franklin was elected chair.

<u>Committee on Committees</u> – Carly Holtkamp, Elyse Weller – Both were elected co-chairs. <u>Constituency Relations</u> – Lilia Angel-Post, Rita Medina, Josi Rawls, Jasmine Winters – Jasmine Winters was elected chair.

<u>Staff Benefits & Welfare</u> – Amy Eaton, Rachel Frazier, Tarnisha Green, Caleb Hale, Peter Lucas, Laura Morgan, Susan Zamora – Laura Morgan was elected chair.

VIII. Old Business

R. Frazier reported the Academic Calendar Committee is looking to sync academic calendars for Carbondale and Edwardsville campuses.

IX. New Business

The Labor and Employee Relations Search Committee is looking to interview candidates.

X. Adjournment

Motion: T. Bennett Second: T. Green