12 October 2008

MEMORANDUM

 TO:
 Donald Castle, MSEd., Chair Administrative/Professional Staff Council Southern Illinois University Carbondale

 FROM:
 Carlos M. Del Rio, PhD., Chair Administrative/Professional Judicial Review Board (APRJB) Southern Illinois University Carbondale

RE: 2007-2008 Academic Year Report of the APRJB, SIUC.

During spring semester 2007, under the Tenure of Mr. Donnell Wilson, Staff Welfare Committee representative, the APJRB welcomed new members to serve between 2007 and 2010 including: Mr. Robert Sims (Academic Affairs), Mr. Matt Baughman (General), Ms. Jennifer Hammonds (School of Medicine) and I (Student Affairs). During the same semester, the APJRB entertained a brief overview session regarding the Board's purpose and procedures to review and hear cases pertaining to relevant grievances, and I was re-elected to serve as Chair of the APJRB (2007-2010).

It is my understanding that two new members have been selected to serve on the APJRB between 2008 and 2011: Mr. J. P. Dunn (Academic Affairs), and Ms. Amanda Phillips (Student Affairs).

I will be in touch with the APJRB to conduct electronic training and/or to answer any questions pertaining its purpose and procedures. Meanwhile, I am working on completing: (a) a Frequent Asked Questions sheet to help the membership understand the functions, powers, procedures, and limitations of the APJRB; (b) a Flow Chart to outlay the process the Board must follow, (c) a Determination of Merit Form to help the membership determine predominantly whether any future grievances are seemingly meritorious to be granted a review hearing, and (d) an Hearing Protocol to hear meritorious grievances as needed. I will submit these documents directly to Becky Armstrong for dissemination and comments once completed. Should the membership wish to contact me directly with any questions or comments regarding this report's content, please do so through my provided email address.

Finally, it is my understanding that no meritorious grievances have been filed with the APJRB over the last academic year. Many thanks.

cc: Becky Armstrong, Office Administrator, Professional Constituencies Office Phil Bankester, Staff Welfare Committee Representative (2008-2009) Sandra Rhoads, Vice Chair, A/P Staff Council