Report to the A/P Council
On the
Non-Traditional Student Services Advisory Council
Presented by Susan Edgren
January 18, 2006

Paulette Curkin, chair, Dollean York-Anderson, Richard Jarvis, Steve Ebbs, and Susan Edgren of the Non-Traditional Student Services Advisory Council met on April 15, 2005 to select the recipients of the Non-Traditional Student Service Activity Scholarship and the Piper-McMahan Endowed Scholarship. Each award is for \$500. The recipients were notified prior to the April 21 Leadership Awards program. Reisha Evans received the \$500 Piper-McMahan Scholarship for a Jackson County high school graduate and Brenda Sanders received the \$500 Student Development Non-Traditional Student Activity Scholarship.

Two issues raised during the review process were:

- 1. There are few applicants for the scholarships, and there was a question about how the scholarships are advertised. According to Paulette Curkin, chair of the council, flyers are sent to all of the mail stops on campus and flyers are posted in the Student Center as well as an ad in the DE. In addition, e-mail notices were sent to the nearly 400 Registered Student Organizations (RSOs) presidents and advisors. There are no funds budgeted for advertising the scholarships.
- 2. A question was raised about the development of a similar award for graduate students. The existing scholarships are based on criteria set by the donors none of which are for a graduate scholarship.