ADMINISTRATIVE/PROFESSIONAL STAFF COUNCIL 2015-2016 Meeting Minutes May 20, 2015

1. The meeting was called to order at 2:00 p.m. by the Chair, Kathy Jones. Visitors and guests were welcomed.

2. Roll Call

<u>Members Present</u>: Shane Bennett, Todd Bryson, Tamarah Cook, Brad Dillard, Jon Geiger, Wayne Glass, Elyse Hiller, Kathy Jones, Kim Little, Casey Loman, Cristina Pisoni, Kim Sanders, Charlotte Sarao, Rod Sievers, Matt Sronkoski, Kaila Tyner, Melinda Yeomans

Members Present with Proxy: Kim Taylor (Charlotte Sarao proxy)

Members Absent: Jaime Conley-Holt, Cordy Love

3. Adoption of Meeting Agenda:

Matt Sronkoski requested a friendly amendment by adding section 7.3 Dependent Tuition Wavier. Charlotte Sarao made a motion to accept the agenda as amended, and Todd Bryson seconded. *Motion carried*.

4. Welcome and Introduction of New Members

K. Jones welcomed the new members and the on-going council members to the first meeting of the 2015-16 A/P Staff Council. All members introduced themselves and told how long they've been at the university and where they worked.

5. **Orientation**

An orientation packet was distributed to each Council member. K. Jones noted that a committee preference form has been included in the packet, which Council members will need to complete and return by June 3.

5.1 Officers

K. Jones reviewed the duties and responsibilities for the offices of Chair, Vice Chair and Secretary

5.2 Committee Chairs

K. Jones reviewed the responsibilities of each of the Council standing committees.

6. Election of Officers (2015-16 Elections)

6.1 Chair

R. Sievers opened the floor for nominations for the office of Chair. T. Bryson nominated Charlotte Sarao. Seconded by M. Sronkoski. R. Sievers asked for any other nominations. Hearing none, J. Geiger moved to close nominations; seconded by W. Glass. *Motion to close nominations carried. C. Sarao was unanimously elected Chair for 2015-2016.*

6.2 Vice Chair

R. Sievers opened the floor for nominations for the office of Vice Chair. C. Sarao nominated Todd Bryson for Vice Chair. Seconded by J. Geiger. R. Sievers asked for any other nominations. Hearing none, J. Geiger moved to close nominations; seconded by B. Dillard. *Motion to close nominations carried. T. Bryson was unanimously elected Vice Chair for 2015-2016.*

6.3 Secretary

R. Sievers opened the floor for nominations for the office of Secretary. C. Sarao nominated Rod Sievers for Secretary. Seconded by T. Bryson. R. Sievers asked for any other nominations. Hearing none, J. Geiger moved to close nominations; seconded by B, Dillard. *Motion to close nominations carried. R. Sievers was unanimously elected Secretary for 2015-2016.*

7. **New Business**

7.1 Committee Preferences

C. Sarao asked Council members to please complete their preference sheets and return to Amy before the next Executive Committee meeting which is June 8.

7.2 Term Adjustments

Motion was made by C. Sarao to form an Ad Hoc Committee for Term Adjustments, seconded by T. Bryson. R. Sievers, Cristina Pisoni, and Jon Geiger volunteered to be on the committee.

7.3 Dependent Tuition Waiver

M. Sronkoski presented information about an AP Staff Resolution voicing disapproval of House Bill 403 which would take away the 50% tuition waiver for dependents of SIU Employees. After brief discussion, T. Bryson noted that this bill may have been tabled until next spring. M. Sronkoski stated that he will look in to that and present it later in the year.

8. **Announcements**

9. **Adjournment**

Motion was made by R. Sievers to adjourn and seconded by K. Sanders. Meeting was adjourned at 2:36 p.m.