# ADMINISTRATIVE/PROFESSIONAL STAFF COUNCIL 2014-2015 Meeting Minutes May 21, 2014

1. The meeting was called to order at 1:45 p.m. by the Chair, Kathy Jones. Visitors and guests were welcomed.

## 2. Roll Call

<u>Members Present</u>: Shane Bennett, Todd Bryson, Angela Cummings-Hunter, Wayne Glass, Jill Gobert, Kathy Jones, Don Patton, Charlotte Sarao, Rod Sievers, Matt Sronkoski, Matt Taitt

Members Absent: Jeannie Killian (Jason Hartz Proxy), Colleen Kuczynski (Jon Geiger Proxy)

# 3. **Adoption of Meeting Agenda:**

Charlotte Sarao made a motion to accept the agenda, and Todd Bryson seconded. Motion carried.

## 4. Welcome and Introduction of New Members

K. Jones welcomed the new members and the on-going council members to the first meeting of the 2014-15 A/P Staff Council. All members introduced themselves and told how long they've been at the university and where they worked.

#### 5. **Orientation**

An orientation packet was distributed to each Council member. K. Jones noted that a committee preference form has been included in the packet, which Council members will need to complete and return by June 2.

## 5.1 Officers

K. Jones reviewed the duties and responsibilities for the offices of Chair, Vice Chair and Secretary

## 5.2 Committee Chairs

K. Jones reviewed the responsibilities of each of the Council standing committees.

## 6. Election of Officers (2014-15 Elections chair)

## 6.1 Chair

K. Jones opened the floor for nominations for the office of Chair. C. Sarao nominated Kathy Jones to be re-elected. Seconded by T. Bryson. K. Jones asked for any other nominations. Hearing none, D. Patton moved to close nominations; seconded by C. Sarao. *Motion to close nominations carried. K. Jones was unanimously elected Chair for 2014-2015.* 

# 6.2 <u>Vice Chair</u>

K. Jones opened the floor for nominations for the office of Vice Chair. Kathy Jones nominated Todd Bryson for Vice Chair. Seconded by C. Sarao. K. Jones asked for any other nominations. Hearing none, D. Patton moved to close nominations; seconded by Wayne Glass. *Motion to close nominations carried. T. Bryson was unanimously elected Vice Chair for 2014-2015.* 

## 6.3 Secretary

K. Jones opened the floor for nominations for the office of Secretary. C. Sarao nominated Rod Sievers for Secretary. Seconded by T. Bryson. K. Jones asked for any other nominations. Hearing none, D. Patton moved to close nominations; seconded by Matt Taitt. *Motion to close nominations carried. R. Sievers was unanimously elected Secretary for 2014-2015.* 

#### 7. **New Business**

#### 7.1 Committee Preferences

Please fill out the preference sheet in rank order and mark preference of Staff Benefits or Welfare as well.

Please return to Rhonda by June 2<sup>nd</sup>. K. Jones explained the proxy procedure for missing meetings.

# 8. **Announcements**

# 9. **Adjournment**

Motion was made by R. Sievers to adjourn and seconded by D. Patton. Meeting was adjourned at 2:10 p.m.